Coconut Oil Success

“Hey ‘Sweet Cheeks’.” My husband just called for me. Ha! He’s never called me that before. I must have done something right to be donned a new pet name. Oh wait, I did do something! I made him some fresh bread! I always tell him, “I’ll make you some bread tonight,” but it never fails that there is always something that interrupts the time I’m scheduling in my head to put aside to make his bread. I use a bread machine, so it’s not like I need a lot of time; really 5-10 minutes is enough time. Though, when you have three kids, one preschooler, one toddler, and an infant that will begin toddling around any minute now, something is bound to happen to steal those 5-10 minutes.

Lately I have been in a ‘nesting’ like phase, but I am in no way shape or form pregnant! I just have plenty of time on my hands now since I no longer have any studies to worry about. I’ve found things to do to keep me occupied. So I’ve turned to baking. I’ve made a really awesome cookie recipe, combining apples and chocolate chips. They are so moist and good. I’m thinking of taking that recipe and exchanging the apples for orange juice and later strawberries. I just want to try something healthier and get the kids to try something different, though we have eaten more of the cookies than the boys have. Guilty pleasures and our tax for the screaming, crying, tantrums, and diapers. Hey, don’t judge. I’m sure just about every parent taxes their kids one way or another. *Halloween candy*

Okay, so on to the recipe. I have bookmarked Allrecipes best bread machine recipes, but their site was down last night, so I couldn’t go there. Next step was Google, and I found Food.com’s Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!…. White Bread. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any butter, so I was about to search for some substitutes, when I saw below it was the 2T of oil (can use 4 tablespoons of oil or melted butter). I figured what the hell, I’ll use oil instead of butter. Now was the decision. Do I use the veggie oil, coconut oil, or Crisco shortening that can become an oil? I decided on the coconut oil. The time it took to liquify just enough of the bottom of the jar to swish it around so I could scoop out just the liquid, the yeast (I used an entire package, which is 3/4 of an ounce) had fizzed. Also, I used all-purpose flour instead of white bread flour. If anyone wants to tell me what the difference is I’m happy to listen, but I think AP is just fine.

And the results, I wish I took a picture. My husband, who isn’t totally into the healthy alternative cooking idea, but we have eaten at home more than out, said I need to use this recipe more often. He really liked it! I chose the basic setting and light crust. I didn’t keep it a secret that I used CO. Sometimes I do that, but I posted it on twitter last night and I knew he would see it, so no big secret.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1C warm water (the site says 110 degrees, but I didn’t check the temp. that’s really too much effort)
  • 2T White Sugar
  • 1 (1/4 oz) package bread machine yeast (the site says 2-1/4t, but I used a pre-packaged yeast from walmart that is sold in packs of three, and is 3/4 oz)
  • 4T Coconut Oil
  • 3C All-Purpose Flour
  • 1t Salt

Start boiling a pot of water, enough that submerges about half a jar of coconut oil. Pour in the cup of warm water, followed by the sugar and yeast. While your yeast is fizzing (allow 10 minutes), place your jar of coconut oil in the boiling water. Take it out about every two minutes to turn upside down. This shifts around the solid mass of oil, allowing the warm oil to loosen the mass from the sides of the jar. Once you believe you have enough oil (really this is about 5-10 minutes, though I did turn the temp down from high to 4 because I was worried about busting my jar), scoop out your oil and add the flour. I made a dip in the flour for the salt, though it probably doesn’t really matter since using a machine.

I didn’t take the bread out after it was done and let it settle for 20 minutes like my machine instructions say, but it came out just fine. It was a little hard to get out of the pan, but that was manageable, and it didn’t destroy the bread.

Happy baking/making everyone!

Give me a shout out!

